Alumni House, built in 1879, is the oldest building on the University of Guelph Campus. Originally a carriage house for the principal of the Ontario Agricultural College, it was not always in its current location at 250 Arboretum Road. Until 1930 it was situated where Johnston Hall now stands and was moved to make way for the new building. Until 1967, the building, to which was added two additional wings, was home to the university's flock of sheep.
Alumni House is one of the historic buildings on campus which is not nestled in amongst its brutalist counterparts.